Springtime Health Kick

Untitled drawing (4)
Spring always inspires me to get really healthy inside and out. Does this spring health kick ever last more than a couple months at most? No, it does not. But it’s happening right now and I’ve picked up some simple healthy habits in hopes that this time my health kick will maintain its hold at least until school starts in the fall (yeah, we’ll see how that goes!). Anyway, here is a list of a few healthy things I’ve been doing lately and why you should do them too!
1. Eating fruit. Fruit is a magical food group that is sweet and delicious but super low in calories, fat, and sodium. I’ve been eating about a cup of various fruits nearly every day and it makes me feel a lot lighter in the best way than when I was eating chips and Pop Tarts as snacks (um, duh). Now, I happen to absolutely love fruit, but you could, of course, trade fruit for vegetables. Both provide plenty of nutrients and dietary fiber without a crazy caloric intake.
2. Exercise. Don’t mistake me for some kind of exercise-aholic — I hate working out. Which is exactly why I choose exercise that doesn’t feel like exercise, like yoga and hula hooping. I’ve been doing yoga for about a year and I recommend it to anyone, even if you think it’s “not for you”. It is not only an awesome way to stay flexible and strong, but it also acts as a method of meditation (something that’s not on this list, but something that I’ve been doing recently as well and totally love — try it!!). If you want to try yoga, but you’re not sure where to start, check out this video! Another way I’ve been exercising is hula hooping, and not just the regular, boring, swing-your-hips-round-and-round hula hooping. My roommate and I recently bought some hula hoops and have been hooping and trying out new tricks. We are, of course, only beginners right now but it’s pretty easy to pick up and really fun!
3. St. Ives Even & Bright Pink Lemon and Mandarin Orange Scrub. If you haven’t tried any of St. Ives face scrubs, you need to. I’ve tried the apricot scrub in the past and really liked it, but the pink lemon/mandarin orange scrub has changed my life. First, it smells amazing. Second, it cleans my face so well and really fends off any breakouts. I don’t know if it’s really evening out my skin tone or brightening my skin, but it is making my skin feel soft and smooth and it’s keeping my skin healthy. What more can a girl ask for, really?
4. Organic Coconut Oil. My roommate has been obsessed with hair care since I met her in August and recently she bought some organic coconut oil for us to try out. And let me tell you, it works wonders. We’ve been putting it in our hair (it makes hair so soft and shiny!!), and on our eyelashes and eyebrows. It may seem strange to put it on our eyelashes and eyebrows as well, but it’s supposed to thicken and lengthen hair in addition to making it softer and shinier. I haven’t seen much of a result, but my roommate, who has been using it for a month compared to my measly two weeks, has seen a big improvement in the thickness of her eyelashes and eyebrows.
5. Maybelline Dream Fresh BB Cream. I have used this BB cream in the past and thought it was absolutely incredible. This winter, however, I decided to switch to a foundation and, after a month or two, I remembered why I had used the BB cream for so long — it was making my skin gorgeous. The switch to foundation put the kibosh on my skin’s radiance, so now I’m back to the BB cream and I’m starting to see the results: the discoloration in my skin is evening out and I’m starting to get that glowy-ness back. I can’t believe I ever quit using this stuff!
It’s not a lot, but these five steps in my journey toward a better, healthier me have already made me feel like a million bucks. Let me know if you try any of this or do any of this and what you think of it! I also would like to hear some of the things you do that aren’t on this short list so leave any tips, fun exercises, products, or anything else ya got for me in the comments!
1 Comment

Leave a Reply

